Same story heard twice

In my teenage years I dated a guitar player. One day we went to the studio where a quite famous and mainstream pop rock band rehearsed, to meet the guitarist who was selling my boyfriend an amplifier. This guy was definitely a talker.

He told us he used to play in a heavy metal band, but this is where the money is and now he lived off of music. He told us about a vocalist and actor he knew that told him he didn’t like his music because it was too commercial. He found that ironic, since that actor was known for playing a part in a cheesy – yet quite successful – soap opera.

Three or four years later, between concerts in a music festival, a friend of my date’s – that happened to be an actor – talked about his favorite bands and music. At a certain point he told us how he once told a guy that he didn’t like his music because it was too commercial.

It took me a few minutes to realise that this was the same person I heard about years before I met him. So I told him about the coincidence and how the guitarist thought his statement was ironic since he was just as much of a sell out.

He said his case was different. I asked how. He said, “It’s just different.”

Leave a Reply

